6 replies to this topic

#1 tpdrums

tpdrums

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 12 posts

Posted 26 July 2007 - 07:16 AM

Good morning all,

I am a local drummer in the Dallas area and just could not help but to start reading these posts. My wife is a teacher who has taught children with special needs and because of her passion to help others I too have become involved. Over the past several months I have been trying to get my drum instruction practice up and running and through this I have came across many people who use drums and percussion as a tool to help fight autism.

Many of you many know of the musical and instrumental performer Yanni. His drummer, Charlie Adams, has two sons that are both autistic. Charlie has created a wonderful organization to help support those who have autism. He is a great person and one of my personal heros.

Another organization, to which I am a member of is called TRAP, or The Rythmic Arts Project (traponline.com). It is a non-profit group of musicians, teachers, and medical staff who volunteer their time and resources to organize and present gatherings where drums and percussion instruments are used to teach skills to those with mental and physical diabilities. It is open to everyone both children and adults and is soooooo much fun and inspirational to everyone who is involved. There are approx. 5 members of this organization here in the Atlanta area. My plans are to get a TRAP project going here locally soon.

Anyway... I just wanted to offer my support. As a father who has a son with CP, I understand how tough life can sometimes be, but through the grace of God we all will continue on. Please let me know if I can be of any help in anyway. God bless you all.
Tony Pence
Drum & Percussion Instructor
tonypence@hotmail.com

#2 Cb1221

Cb1221

Paulding Com member

• Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 179 posts

Posted 26 July 2007 - 07:22 AM