Recent Topics Recent Topics

Photo
- - - - -

Is Paulding County's alternative school PART of the Public School System?

• You cannot start a new topic
  • Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 Kyminga

Kyminga

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 47 posts

Posted 26 March 2012 - 02:43 PM

Is Paulding County's alternative school PART of the Public School System?

and...be gentle...this is my first time posting in here. lol

#2 mysterious

mysterious

Icon

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,260 posts

Posted 26 March 2012 - 02:47 PM

Great question.
I looked into it last year and it "seems" to be a national program.

There are 2 options for funding.
IF your child is expelled from school then they "qualify" for this program.

IF you just want to send your child there to remove them from the school they are in now then "some" of them allow the parents to pay. At the time, the Paulding location did not.

The ones that did were very high priced.

I chose to homeschool my son via the internet and we love it.
ALL THAT GLITTERS IS NOT GOLD.

#3 Kyminga

Kyminga

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 47 posts

Posted 26 March 2012 - 02:53 PM

Thanks for responding. Good answer...good to know more. But, I have more questions. lol
"Qualify" for what program? And who pays for that program? And how does one "qualify" for this program? What are the criteria?

Ok, I'll be more direct in my reason for asking this question. The kids that were expelled from EPHS recently...some parents are commenting that it is costing the school system(AKA: the tax payers) $6,000 PER KID for them to attend the alternative school.

NOW, my questions are these: Is the 6k figure the DIFFERENCE in what it would have cost tax payers to send each kid to a regular school? Is the 6k the cost of sending ANY kid to ANY school in Paulding County?

#4 mysterious

mysterious

Icon

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,260 posts

Posted 26 March 2012 - 03:02 PM